Restoration God

Yesterday’s blog post was about how God was (figuretively) leading me from being a catepillar to a butterfly. Today, I want to talk about the God of Restoration.

You see when I was in the “cocoon” phase, God asked me to do a lot of things that were uncomfortable in the moment. From walking away from certain relationships to starting to tithe my income, it seemed that God was taking from me.

At the time, I didn’t understand that the same God that takes away can restore as well!

Psalm 51:12 says:

Restore to me the joy of your salvation and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me.”

You see when God brings you through the valley it is never His intention to leave you there. It is ALWAYS His purpose to bring you through to the other side.  What is on the other side?

Galatians 5:22 says:

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

Now about this time last year, God gave me a small glimpse of what this new life would be like.  It lasted for about a day.  During the day, I treated myself to an ice cream cup.

And a funny thing happen.

When I swiped my debit card to pay for the ice cream, I felt this radiating joy spread throughout my body. For those of you that know me, spending any kind of money use to always be a painful task for me to do. I was so uptight about even spending a dollar.

If you are in a valley season right now, my encouragement to you today is to keep pressing on.  You know what your dreams and desires are. You may even know what God’s will is for your life. God not only wants to, but WILL see you through to the other side.

3 thoughts on “Restoration God

  1. Marc, what a joy to read that you have embraced the process that God has/is taking you through with a positive attitude and praise Him for it! Also, love the figurative picture of the cocoon to butterfly. It’s so true that God leads us through the wilderness sometimes to teach us something, even to bitter waters to test us, but He never leaves us there. God bless you! What a great encouragement you’ve written here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

