From Caterpillar to (Emerging) Butterfly

Do you often wonder how you will accomplish your dreams in your life or what God has called you to do? Do you often fret about how it will happen? If you answered yes to either of these questions there is a good chance that God may have to do a work in you to prepare you to accomplish your dreams.

One of my favorite verses of scripture is Proverbs 3:5-6:

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding in all your ways submit to him and he will make your paths straight.

It may just be that God has to send you into a cocoon phase to prepare you to accomplish His will in your life. This is how its been for me.

I wandered aimlessly throughout my early 20s. Hopped around from job to job. I believed that the mark of a “successful” person was measured what was in their bank account. I also believed the mark of a successful person was if a person was “attached” to someone else.

This was the caterpillar phase of my life.

In order to accomplish His will in my life, I had to go through a cocoon phase in my life. This was marked with 2+ years of an almost unbearable depression in my life that led to a suicide attempt last year.  Little did I know, that God was never closer in my life in those difficult moments.

You see God was preparing me to accomplish His will in my life, but had to grab my attention. The depression was the only thing that grabbed my attention. It forced me to rely on Him to see me through to the other side.

Now, as an emerging butterfly, I can look back with clarity and see what God was doing throughout each moment.

My prayer for you is, if you are going through a challenging season in your life, that  you see it from a God perspective. You see, God knows past, present and future.  The future part is often where we seem to doubt God. God knows what it will take to accomplish His will. I pray you release control and turn it over to God!

3 thoughts on “From Caterpillar to (Emerging) Butterfly

Leave a Reply

