Deep Waters

It’s amazing when God starts working in a person’s life how He targets areas that need refining.

In my case, it was that money was my sense was my worth/security in life. I’ve spent the past two years trying to dismantle that belief to almost no avail. So how does God target that thinking? By taking away your money and having you totally dependent on Him of course! Oh the thrill of trusting God!

Just this week, I started my last two weeks of therapy called neurofeedback. Because it is not covered by insurance, it was a rather large out of pocket expense that has the bank account approaching zero.

Naturally, the old ways of thinking started firing off. “If the bank account reaches zero, I’m going to die!”  is some of the catastrophic thinking my brain goes to.

In those moments, I have to make an effort to keep my eyes on the prize: The love and joy that comes from God alone.

Matthew 6:33 states, “But seek ye first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you.”

It’s easy to get sidetracked on the goal. It is those moments where I have to stand on the promises of God. I pray we all have the courage to stay the course and not get sidetracked by distractions to our goals.

Leave a Reply

