The Consequences of Holding Onto Negative Emotions

Do you ever worry about if your brakes are going to go out on your car? Maybe your tires? Maybe your computer might crash on you? If you are like me, it may just be that you have a fear of death.

For me, I can remember exactly where I was when I found about death when I was three years old. I was petrified of it and had been until last week that is. You see on a rational level I didn’t fear death, but there was a piece of me that was wounded boy that lived inside of me. I had not emotionally been free from the fear of death.

Holding onto negative emotions is toxic. It blocks the positive emotions like love and joy. These negative memories are stored in every cell of our bodies and by releasing them we can become unstuck.

Do you have a memory that you may be over rationally, but not emotionally? Might I suggest that it may be severely limiting your life today. It doesn’t matter if it happened 50 years ago. If you aren’t over something emotionally, it will hinder your life and God’s purpose for your life.

You are worthy of living a life worth living. Don’t let something that happened years ago affect you still today. Ask God to reveal those areas in your life. I can promise you one thing. He will be happy to do so.

Leave a Reply

