When God Seems Silent

Have you ever been through a time where God seems silent to you? You keep asking for something, yet seems like the more you ask, the quieter God gets.  Get ready then because God is about to do awesome in your life and you don’t want to miss it.

There are two types of responses a person can take in this situation.  One is of restlessness and worry and the other is one of peace that God is in control (Take it from me, the worry option isn’t worth the struggle).

Currently, I have placed out about 10 phone calls and have heard back from one person (And that was while I am typing this).  In the past, my thoughts would have led me to a dark place. “God why are you leaving me? God, why are you allowing this discomfort? God, I don’t know about this.”

Well let me assure you, God isn’t leaving you, He is working for you.  Let me say that again.  He is working for you. I spent about month worrying about where my next step would be after my Atlanta visit.  Then within the course of about 3 hours, God made it so crystal clear that Memphis was the next step for me.

You see what I couldn’t see was that God was aligning all the right people, facilities, resources, etc. to help me transition to Memphis. He was working FOR me.

Now when I come across a situation where it feels like God is “leaving me”, I might as well pull up a chair, a soda, sit back and listen to Ty Linder’s “The Flashes are going to Omaha!!” on repeat or some other Kent State classic on Youtube.

I now recognize he is working with me. He is doing the work, that I don’t have to.

Prayer: Heavenly Father, how grateful you are a God that works with us and not against us.  Thank you for always having our best interest at heart even when we don’t see a way.  Thank you for being with us in the fire and the flood.  We love you. In Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

