Spirituality vs. Religion

My good friend Joey once told me, “Religion is for people who don’t want to go to hell and spirituality is for people who have already been to hell and don’t want to go back.”

The first part of the statement definitely rang true in my early years of life.  I went to Catholic church every week, said my prayers, gave a little, but always felt like something was missing. It wasn’t until I went into my deep depression that I realized what that was. A personal intimate relationship with Jesus Christ.

Now this isn’t something that could be obtained by going through the religious rituals that I had been doing. I needed to put my faith into action.  But how would I know that I was actually following God’s plan for my life?

Well I guess that’s why they call it faith because to be honest I didn’t know for a long time.  I didn’t know at the time that I was following God’s will for my life by walking away from that well-paying unethical job.  That was blind faith.

Matthew 17:20 states, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move.” I always find it fascinating how the parables told in the gospel ring so true even in 2015.

You see God isn’t interested in your religious practices. He isn’t interested that you go to church every week or that you skimmed through the Bible for the week.  He wants to have a relationship with you more than anything.  He wants you to be spiritual more than religious. Ultimately, He wants to know you.  The question is, do you want to know Him?

Prayer: Father how grateful we are that you desire us more than anything in the world. We are thankful that you are not interested in how perfect we perform religious rituals, but desire us to follow Your promptings in our spirit.  All you ask is that we are obedient to you. There is nothing we could ever do to repay you for what Jesus did at Calvary. We love you Lord. In Jesus name. Amen.

4 thoughts on “Spirituality vs. Religion

  1. Mmm. Yes, of course. Yet I want to speak up for Religion. Quakers say come to worship when you feel “tired depressed or spiritually cold”. Keep up the religion. It is not a substitute, but it can be a useful framework.

    Thank you for the follow. I get a bit unnerved by wordless follows- do comment, that is what makes this hobby worthwhile. I am as authentic as I can be in my blog, open and vulnerable, and crave feedback.

    Like

    • Thank you for you post. I appreciate your feedback ask well! For me personally, religion became a substitute for an authentic relationship with Jesus Christ. However, I do believe religion can be used as an important tool for that relationship with Jesus Christ.

      Grace and Peace,
      Marc

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Blithe Spirit and commented:
    Not quite. Religion is for providing the motions to go through when you have lost track of spirituality. Go through them long and faithfully enough, and you have a chance of regaining or gaining spirituality. “I believe, Lord; help thou my unbelief” is your motto.

    Like

Leave a Reply

